If you have not read Shirley Jackson, please remedy this tragedy immediately.

I think many people remember reading The Lottery in school.  Is it still taught in schools?  I honestly don’t know.  It’s been that long since I was “in school.”

Anyhow, Shirley Jackson was married, had five children and wrote some very fine books and short stories.  It is really hard to write fiction and raise children.  Ask me how I know.  It seems that she may have suffered from depression and anxiety.  She was a chain smoker and she died an obese woman but we don’t know, not really, how she felt about things most of the time.

A lot of us don’t know how we feel about things most of the time.  I know this to be true.

Anyway, my favorite novel of hers is We Have Always Lived in the Castle.  She had a wonderful style and a real genius for creepy Gothicness that grows and grows, builds and builds to an inexorable conclusion.  I love it when you read a book that makes you think “Oh, yes, that’s exactly how it should have ended” and you can’t say exactly why you feel that way.  You just know.

Here is the link to We Have Always Lived in the Castle

http://www.amazon.com/We-Have-Always-Lived-Castle-ebook/dp/B004SS1MH0/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

